Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Bacon and Cheddar Mac and Cheese

Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you, my first cooking failure.

Ok. Maybe it wasn’t a total failure, I did make the noodles right…

In my defense, this was the first time I tried to make something that wasn’t a dessert or an appetizer.

Things started out ok, until I got to the sauce. It said high until boil, then turn down to medium. Which I did. But when I turned it down to medium, it kept boiling until it completely boiled over. Creating this lovely mess:

Yup. That was a bitch to clean. To try and remedy the sauce, I poured in some milk, then added some extra cheese we had in the fridge. Well, it turns out my improv skills suck, because one I added it to the noodles, I had a tiny lake of cheese sauce on the bottom of my pot.

On top of all this, my dumbass sister decided to eat the bacon that I was using, even though I said I needed it. This left me three pieces of bacon short.

Overall though, it didn’t taste too horrible. Like I said, the noodles were done right, and the cheese was a little more cream and milk than cheese, thanks to the boiling explosion, and actually I thought there was the right amount of bacon.

So, maybe it wasn’t a total failure, just a half failure.

Recipe:
http://www.ivillage.com/bacon-and-cheddar-macaroni-cheese/3-r-152768

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

