Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Caramel Apple Cupcakes


In short, the cupcake part of it was really good. There were actual apples in the batter, and the cake part just tasted really good.

Then, I took a look at the frosting recipe. Boiling sugar into caramel, double boiling egg whites, whisking for 6 min in a standing mixer.

Well. 1. I had to make my own caramel? 2. What the hell is double boiling? 3. I don’t own a standing mixer. Just a hand one.

I decided to just screw it and go for it.

Actually, making the own caramel, actually…worked. It tasted actually pretty good, but then I was working on the rest of it, the sauce got to thick, so we heated it up a bit to thin it out, which worked, but I think maybe burned it a bit? Maybe? Well, also, I didn’t have enough salt, but I don’t think that made a huge difference.

Then I figured out what double boiling was, and it was going ok. Until I got to the directions: “Measure with a candy thermometer”. Yeah, because I have one of those lying around. So I guessed.

And I guess there really is a difference between a standing mixer and a hand mixer, because no matter how much I whisked it with a hand mixer, the frosting never changed consistency.

Then I find out its a freaking Martha Stewart recipe. No wonder it was so complicated.

So. Yeah. There was my frosting fail. So I put some sprinkles on it to make it pretty.

But like I said, the cake part was delicious!

Recipe:
http://www.bakedperfection.com/2011/10/apple-cupcakes-with-caramel-buttercream.html

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

