Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Southwestern Sweet Potato Latkes with Chipotle Sour Cream


So, you may or may not know this about me, but I have a Catholic mom and a Jewish dad. And, although I am Catholic, I still would celebrate Hanukkah and Passover with my dad’s side of the family.

One of my favorite dishes from those holidays was potato latkes. So. Good.

I found this recipe which is just a fun twist on the traditional recipe, so I decided to give it a try. It went…interestingly. Let’s start with saying that the picture above is the pretty one. Here’s how the rest turned out:

So, I hit my first speed bump at the store. The recipe called for chipotle sauce for the sour cream…yeah couldn’t find that anywhere. So I took a risk and got this honey chipotle barbecue sauce. Holy crap that paid off. The sour cream was freaking delicious. The barbecue sauce gave it a spicy sweetness that I could eat with a spoon.

So, next speed bump. Didn’t have a food processor or large box grater for the sweet potatoes. Latkes have a specific texture based off of the thickness of the grated potato strings. And we didn’t have the graters necessary. So I had to hand grate with this tiny grater. It took a half hour. And what came out was really thin and tiny.

So that leads to problem number three. Apparently I never paid attention to when my dad tried to teach me to flip latkes. Plus, the texture was really wonky so…they kept falling apart. And our smoke alarm was possessed and kept going off even though nothing was burning.

However, in the end. They tasted really good! They definitely have a kick to them, and are actually really delicious. So, my latkes may look super messy, but I’m proud of them. Maybe the next time I try to tap into my Jewish side, I’ll have a better grater.

Recipe:
http://www.dramaticpancake.com/2011/12/sandi-southwestern-sweet-potato-latkes-with-chipotle-sour-cream/

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

