Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

So, this is a Paula Deen recipe, so I was expecting it to be deliciously unhealthy. And unfortunately, I was a little disappointed.

There is a LOT of olive oil in this. (it’s supposed to be vegetable oil, but i substituted the olive oil to make it a tiny bit healthier) As I was making it, I checked it three times to make sure it actually said 1 1/2 cups. It did. Maybe that was a typo or something. But the batter itself and the cupcakes had an oily taste to them, my sister and I could taste the olive oil, like it was the predominant flavor. So I was a little disappointed.But, everyone else that ate them said they were really good, so I don’t know.

Also, did you know that the little bottles of food coloring contain 1 tbsp? Found that out. Because you need 2 tbsps for this recipe and I used the entire bottle and only had 1. Thankfully red food coloring is strong, because they are still red, just not as red as normal red velvet things.

Then, this recipe yields WAY too much frosting. I completely frosted 24 cupcakes with only 1/4th of the frosting I made. So unless you’re piping it, or you like a giant mountain of frosting, cut the frosting recipe in half. And with that, this cream cheese frosting was good, but I’ve made better.

So, in the end, this wasn’t a bad recipe, but I’m sure there are better red velvet recipes out there.

Recipe:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/red-velvet-cupcakes-with-cream-cheese-frosting-recipe/index.html

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

