Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Jello Shot Cupcakes

So I’ve decided that from now on, I’m never going to try to make homemade frosting ever again. Every time I try to make cupcakes, the cupcake part is good, but the frosting turns out like shit.

Granted, I don’t own a standing mixer. When I read it, I was like oh those ingredients will mix together easily, not realizing that the mixer thickens the mixture. So after 10 minutes of hand whisking, it had only thickened a little, and my mom was like “just use it like a glaze or something”. So I go to do that, but at that point, I had whisked it to a point where it was still way too thin to be frosting, but it was to thick to be a glaze, hence the mess you see above.

As for the cupcake part, I thought they were pretty good. The recipe calls for coconut rum, which I don’t really like, so I got passionfruit rum instead, and I think that mixed with the strawberry jello was a good combo.

My sisters? They hated them, said they were gross. Granted, one of them is 14 and didn’t like the rum part. My other sister definitely likes rum, but she said that cupcakes and alcohol shouldn’t mix.

So…yeah these were kind of a miss. Which sucks because I wanted to find something fun to make for a party, oh well, I guess I just have to keep looking!

Recipe:

http://iheartcuppycakes.com/2009/03/11/jello-shot-cupcakes/

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

