Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Baked Mashed Potatoes

So they’re supposed to look like this. All cute and individualized and what not. But see that bowl up there? That’s the only one I have, so this is what I did with the rest:

ta-da. Just as good, just in a bigger bowl.

Anyway, potatoes are one of my favorite foods, hands down, so I was all over making these.

Confession. Being a college student with little to no time on my hands ever, when I want to soften potatoes to mash them, I thrown them in the microwave. Works just as fine. But, I had the time last night, so I figured why the hell not, let’s boil them in a pot like normal people do.

Yeah I had no idea it takes like a half hour to boil five potatoes. That would have been like 10-15 minutes in the microwave. But I digress. I got impatient and after a half hour, I just mashed them anyway, so these were a little lumpier than I would have liked, but oh well.

All of the stuff that’s added in? The pepper, cheese, and butter? I would do more, but that’s just me. I actually ended up adding a little more butter when I ate them.

But I thought these were good. A little too much effort to for slightly fancier mashed potatoes, but that’s my only complaint.

Recipe:

http://www.stabroeknews.com/2009/the-scene/12/05/it%E2%80%99s-all-about-the-side-dishes/

(There’s some other potato side dish recipes on that page too!)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

