Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Cinnamon Roll Cupcakes

image

Guys. I have made a culinary victory. I MADE ICING AND FROSTING THAT DIDN’T SUCK! (Seriously though, look at all my past attempts at cupcakes…it was always the frosting that did me in)

I mean, I don’t have any materials to pipe the frosting and make them look pretty but at this point, I don’t care. I made them from scratch, they were the right consistency, and they tasted good. Bam.

So, onto the actual cupcakes themselves. I’m making them, I open the sour cream and there is MOLD ON IT. We don’t understand how it happened, my roommate had gotten it like a week ago. So. I was like well shit, what am I going to replace this with? Then one of my roommates was all like “why would you put sour cream in cupcakes anyway? That sounds gross” And I was like “…that’s a good question. [goes to computer, googles…2 minutes later] It’s to make them softer and give them a vaguely tarter taste. So there.”

So, I also start google-ing replacements for the sour cream, and someone says buttermilk…which I don’t have, but I did know how to make the milk/lemon juice substitute for buttermilk…So basically I used a substitute for a substitute…and I think it showed. The cupcakes were a little bit harder than I would want them to be, but the taste wasn’t bad…

Also, the cupcake liners we had got stretched out, hence why they look like a mess.

Guys. I feel like the universe is telling me to stop making cupcakes…but the question is…WILL I stop making cupcakes…the answer is probably no.

Recipe:

http://bakingdom.com/2011/09/cinnamon-roll-coffee-cupcakes.html

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

