Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Streusel Topped French Toast Cupcakes with Maple Buttercream

Well that’s a mouthful huh? Buh dum chhhh

…Anyway, the battle of Jillian versus the cupcake recipes continues. And I think this may be one of my favorites so far. The actual cupcake is really good, the streusel on top is a nice add on, and the frosting is really good. (More on the frosting later)

So as you may or may not know, streusel are little crumbly balls of deliciousness that look like this:

It’s basically just brown sugar, butter, flour, and some other stuff and you hand mix them together. Except for some reason mine formed a giant blob instead of being crumbly. So, I basically just added a bunch of brown sugar and flour until they looked like the above picture. And because of that I had a ton extra. Oh well, happy problem. But when the cupcakes come out they look like this:

Looks good right?

Next was the frosting. My cooking enemy since day one. And while I did really like the taste of this, I could not get it to thicken. I added a ton of extra powdered sugar, nothing. So, I said fuck it and put it in the plastic bag.

Oh yeah, did I mention I was going to be adventurous and try to pipe the frosting? Except I don’t have the fancy piping bags, so I just shoved all the frosting in a giant ziploc and cut a hole in the corner.  And honestly? I think it could have worked, if the frosting had been thicker. Because a couple of them looked really good, and then the frosting just kind of sunk.

Eh, whatever, they still taste awesome.

Recipe:

http://bakingdom.com/2011/12/streusel-topped-french-toast-cupcakes-with-maple-buttercream.html

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

