Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Avocado, Cream Cheese, and Salsa Stuffed Puff Pastries

I’ve never used puff pastry before, so this was an experiment. I also didn’t know if those particular things (avocado, cream cheese, and salsa) would taste good together. But I decided, eh, fuck it let’s do this.

So. everything was going well, until I was informed that our rolling pin had broke. I had to improvise.

It worked well enough.

So. I did one of two things wrong. I either rolled the pastry out too big or I didn’t put enough filling in the middle. I’m leaning more towards the second one. But one of those reasons is why there is so much excess pastry around the filling (you can see it in the first picture). Something my mom suggested was maybe putting a smaller square of pastry in a muffin tin and do it that way? Which I think could actually work.

As for the three things tasting good together? They totally do.

But I think if I make them the muffin tin way, they could make cute little hors d’oeuvres or something. (and yeah I totally looked up how to spell that.)

Recipe:

http://www.averiecooks.com/2012/01/avocado-cream-cheese-and-salsa-stuffed-puff-pastries.html

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

