Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Funnel Cake

A lot of firsts with this one right here.

1. First successful attempt at using a ziploc as a pastry bag type thing

2. First time frying something

3. First recipe in my new apartment!

I just moved recently from Cleveland, OH, to Chicago and have been super busy getting everything together. But I made some time for this after work one night.

And I was super surprised how easy it actually was. The dough was simple to make and the frying part wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be.

For the frying, I used olive oil, hoping it would be the teeniest bit healthier. I have no idea if it actually was or not, but at least I tried.

The recipe calls for a deep skillet. Which I don’t have. So I used a regular skillet and then used tongs to flip the whole thing over about halfway through frying.

So, if you’re ever craving some carnival food, try this one out! But I will say, the whole recipe only made two. So I would double or triple the batter if you want more.

Recipe:

http://www.momswhothink.com/cake-recipes/funnel-cake-recipe.html

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Funnel Cake

  1. I should definitely try this recipe, I love funnel cakes but have never tried one. Also, I’m super jealous you moved to Chicago. It’s my favorite city in the US for sure!

Leave a Reply

