Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Cake Batter Cheesecake Bars

I love cake AND cheesecake. So of course I had to make these.

And it actually was pretty easy. The recipe calls for cookie crumbs. I shoved a handful of cookies in a bag and beat the crap out of it. So. Therapeutic and efficient!

Fun fact. I forgot that cheesecake is pretty much in liquid form before you bake it. So I’m standing in the kitchen, trying to figure out what I did wrong. I decide to add more cake mix and sprinkles to thicken it. Also, in my past experiences with cake batter flavored things, the called for amount is never enough. And I was right in that aspect. I ended up using about 3/4 to 1 cup range instead of the 1/2 cup and you can definitely taste the cake batter. I do wish I would have used less sprinkles though. You know how sometimes sprinkles can have that weird plastic-y after taste? It translated a tiny bit into the cheesecake, but thankfully everything else pretty much overwhelms it.

Something else I forgot: That it has to set in the fridge before you cut it. And this recipe, it needs anywhere from three hours to overnight. By the time it came out of the oven, the three hours would put me at 2 AM. So I set an alarm and tried to watch a movie. Yeah I fell asleep. And when the alarm went off, I essentially zombie walked into the kitchen and started cutting the cheesecake. I didn’t even fully wake up and realize what I was doing until I was halfway done. Long story short, I should have let them set overnight. It wasn’t bad, it just made the bars a little messier than I would have liked.

But this is a really tasty dessert. Give it a shot!

Recipe:

http://teenagetaste.com/2012/03/09/cake-batter-cheesecake-bars/

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

