Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Sugar Cookies

These aren’t just any sugar cookies. These are *those* sugar cookies. You know what I mean. The super soft ones?

Needless to say, I was super excited to make these, because they are my favorite type. The thing is they’re not hard to make, it’s just very time consuming. Once you make the dough, it has to chill for at least an hour, then you have to let the cookies completely cool before you put frosting on or else it will run, then you have to wait for the frosting to set so you can stack them like that. But, patience paid off on this one.

Although, making the frosting for these guys was an adventure. I didn’t have enough powdered sugar, so I decided to reduce everything else, then I ran out of vanilla so there was less of that, added more butter…it was a process. It didn’t taste bad, I just wish there was more of the vanilla.

As for the pink color, I actually wanted red, but no matter how much red food coloring I put in, the frosting just became a darker and darker pink. So I gave up, hence the lovely shade of pink they are now.

Recipe:

http://smells-like-home.com/2012/03/lofthouse-style-soft-frosted-sugar-cookies/

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

