Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Four Cheese Baked Skillet Rigatoni

So, if you’ve been following my cooking adventures, you’ve probably noticed that macaroni and cheese type dishes has been a constant struggle for me. And I don’t know why doing basically a super fancy mac n cheese would make it any better

But first, let me show you a picture of all the ingredients. I’ve just seen a lot of other blogs do it and I think it’s cool…

There are indeed four types of cheeses. Sharp cheddar, gruyere, fontina, and mascarpone. I didn’t even know what the hell mascarpone was. And I tried a little bit of it, and I don’t get what the big deal was. I also couldn’t find fontina anywhere, so I had to settle for a fontina provolone blend, and I could only get five ounces of it, instead of the 8 that was needed.

Also, I did not have a skillet big enough to do all of these things in, so I had to do it the old fashioned way of noodles in one pot, sauce in the other:

And yes. I did make a giant mess making the sauce.

Anyway, maybe it was because I may have overcooked the sauce part when it was in the roux phase, or maybe I really did need those extra three ounces of fontina, but the sauce was so-so. It wasn’t bad, I’m just pretty sure I screwed something up somewhere that would have made it awesome.

And then I re-heated some for dinner last night and my roommate said it smelled bad. So. That boosted my confidence.

Anyway. The fight to make good mac-n-cheese continues. One day, it’ll happen.

Recipe:

http://www.howsweeteats.com/2012/03/four-cheese-baked-skillet-rigatoni/

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

