Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Lemon Poppyseed Muffins

I’ll admit, Lemon Poppyseed isn’t my go to muffin flavor, I’m a blueberry person myself. But, I do enjoy lemon poppyseed and this looked like a good recipe, so I decided to go for it. And it was a pretty good recipe.

Confession: Normally when a recipe calls for lemon zest, I don’t do it. I think it’s a waste of a lemon if the juice of the whole lemon isn’t being used in a recipe, so I just replace it with 2 tbsps of lemon juice, always works for me.

But this time, the recipe says zest and juice of a lemon, so I decide to go for it and see if it really makes a difference. I will say I don’t love the texture if gave the batter. Because another confession: I always “test” batter. AKA eat it. And the texture was weird. And honestly? I don’t think it added anything more than if I just did more lemon juice. So. That was my experiment with this one.

Also, remember that time I said I would always check for muffin tin liners?

Yeah. Forgot to check. So, I sprayed the shit out of the muffin pan and it actually worked, shockingly.

But yeah, this is a solid recipe. They taste great out of the oven, but they stale pretty quickly, so eat them quickly!

Recipe:

http://joythebaker.com/2009/11/lemon-poppy-seed-muffins/

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

