Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Hasselback Garlic Cheesy Bread

IMG_2042

I’ve only ever made bread from scratch once before, and it turned out ok. But it was also pull apart bread, so I just had to cut it into squares. This was real, like I made a baguette of bread. Which, honestly, I could have done better.

With the right amount of ingredients, it was super dry, so I kept adding water little by little and kneading. It took forever. Also, it was really tough to knead. I sprained one of my fingers in middle school and it’s been a little hard to bend ever since. Kneading it was so tough that something snapped in that finger and it was clicking whenever I bent it, and now it bends all the way. So I’m pretty sure I snapped something back into place. That’s how tough kneading this dough was.

Anyway, I got really impatient and just decided to let it rise even though it wasn’t perfect. And honestly, it turned out fine. A little lumpy, but fine.

As for the garlic part of this. I went to the fancy chain grocery store and they had every flavor of butter except garlic. So, I tried to make my own using some recipe I found online. It was fine, but when everything was all said and done, the garlic flavor didn’t transfer as much to the bread. On top of that, I didn’t slice the cheese thin enough, so it all just kind of awkwardly sticks out at the top.

Anyway, moral of the story is that this is a good recipe, and I could have done a better job with it and made it prettier or something. Maybe next time.

Recipe:

http://www.laurenslatest.com/hasselback-garlic-cheesy-bread/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+laurenslatest/yMlk+(Lauren%27s+Latest)&utm_content=Google+Reader

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

