Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cake

IMG_2091

So, I’ve made cakes before. But I think this was an interesting recipe. Not in terms of ingredients or anything, but how to make it. Like the order everything goes in. I don’t know, maybe I’m rambling.

Anyway, making the batter was pretty straight forward. But, the recipe said she used a 9 x 13 pan, but the batter barely covered the bottom. I a 9 x 11 did the trick eventually. (After a very messy transfer) but the cake is still pretty thin.

The icing was also interesting to make. Well. First off, I was dumb and only looked at the ingredients for the cake before I went shopping, and I didn’t buy heavy cream. But, because the internet is awesome, I found a substitute recipe (butter and milk). But making the icing required boiling a mixture then pouring it over chocolate. But, it worked, and it’s probably the best icing/frosting type thing I’ve made.

But, I will say, the cake was just ok. It was good, but it wasn’t as good as I expected it to be. Oh well, maybe next time!

Recipe:

http://www.culinaryconcoctionsbypeabody.com/2006/10/01/life-can-be-cruel/

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

