Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Twinkie Cupcakes

Guys. I’ve done it. The war is over.

I MADE CUPCAKES THAT DIDN’T SUCK!

Not only that, they were filled cupcakes!

But seriously. These are delicious. I was telling a friend what I was making and he said “That sounds…weird”.

Sounds weird, yes, tastes delicious, absolutely.

They’re pretty easy to make too. But there’s a lot of mixing happening. (Seriously I’m going to have Hulk arms one day from all of the freaking hand mixing I do). The cake part is literally just adding instant pudding mix to a box cake mix. It’s the filling really that makes it a Twinkie.

I cored out mine with a small knife, and yes I ate all the centers, duh. But i didn’t have a ziploc bag, so I just used a small spoon for the filling and that worked just fine.

I took a picture after filling them because I thought they looked like the bottom of a Twinkie!

As for the frosting, this might have actually been a decent consistency to try some kind of piping, but like I said earlier, no ziploc bags could be found in my apartment, so I just spooned it on.

So, this isn’t the recipe to go to if you’re counting your calories. The highlights include 4 sticks of butter, a whole 32 oz. bag of powdered sugar, and not one, but two whole jars of marshmallow fluff.

Although side note, I needed about half of the frosting that this recipe yielded, so.

But these turned out great! Give this recipe a try:

Recipe

http://thedomesticrebel.com/2012/02/22/twinkie-cupcakes/

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

