Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Chicken Parmesan Grilled Cheese

IMG_2844 (1)

So, what I’ll say about this recipe is that it has potential. And by that I mean the recipe is totally fine. I screwed it up.

So. First mistake. Recipe says Fontina Cheese. I make a note of it, some time passes before I get a chance to go to the store, and when I get there, I see that the recipe didn’t specify how much, which normally means not a lot. I also couldn’t find straight fontina cheese. It was always mixed with something. So I said to myself “eh I have some muenster cheese at home, let’s just do that.”

So, fast forward to actually making the thing. It hits me that this is the first time I’m making tomato sauce on my own, and not using the canned stuff. Cool, let’s do it. Everything’s going great, I leave the sauce to simmer, start with the chicken, when I start to get caught up in showing my roommate Pentatonix music videos (by the way, great group if you don’t know them).

I look at the stove top and realize “Oh. I definitely have that set to cook, not simmer”

Yeah, I had some burned ass tomato sauce on my hands. I tried adding pinch(es) of sugar, as the recipe suggests, but yeah, couldn’t really salvage it. It actually didn’t taste horrendous, but I also wasn’t too proud of myself.

Thankfully, the chicken was great. I’ve got the whole coating and baking chicken thing down to an art now. That was great.

So, the sauce is (over)done, the chicken is done, let’s actually make the sandwich part. I pull out all of the necessary grilled cheese items, including my muenster cheese. Open the bag, there is one slice left.

Well shit.

So, I take my chicken, spread a scant amount of the sauce on top, then rip the singular cheese slice in half, place it on both sandwiches, and just go for it.

On a happier note, this the first time with a fancy grilled cheese recipe where it didn’t fall apart on the first flip. #smallvictories #blessed

So, all in all, this actually didn’t taste bad, it was just way less flavorful than it could have been. And it’s my own damn fault. So, give this a try and learn from my mistakes. Pay attention to your sauces.

Recipe:

http://www.eisforeat.com/2012/04/c-is-for-chicken-parmesan-grilled.html

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

