Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Margarita Cupcakes

11930871_426793237511304_1902623130_n

I’ve seen multiple recipes for boozy cupcakes, and I’ve always wanted to give them a shot.

Also, margaritas. Yum.

So, while I do like tequila, I’m not one who normally just has a bottle laying around. So, I bought some Jose and now I have almost an entire bottle in my kitchen. Don’t get me wrong, you can definitely taste the tequila in the cupcakes, but it only is about two shots worth. So, unless you do have a bottle handy, save yourself some money and get the cute little airplane bottles.

I also tried a new thing for buttermilk, which is always a bitch. It’s expensive, and doesn’t keep long. I found this stuff in the baking aisle that is a dry powder version of buttermilk. You put the appropriate amount of powder in with the dry ingredients, and then when the recipe actually calls for buttermilk, put water in instead. And it worked great!

The cupcake batter itself was a little thinner than I’m used to, but they came out great so no complaints there.

But I will say, the frosting beat me this time. I keep losing the consistency challenge. The taste is always there, but I don’t want to sacrifice flavor for consistency, especially in this recipe. So, I dealt with some runny frosting and called it a day.

But, these cupcakes are quite tasty, and I especially loved the frosting. Give these a shot for your next party!

Recipe:

http://www.browneyedbaker.com/margarita-cupcakes-cinco-de-mayo/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+browneyedbaker/feed+(Brown+Eyed+Baker+)&utm_content=Google+Reader

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

