Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Blueberry Cupcakes with Lime Cream Cheese Frosting

IMG_3056.jpg

So, when I first saw that recipe, I was like “blueberry and lime”? That sound weird. One friend said it sounded gross.

But it’s not at all. The berry and citrus go together really well, making an almost sweet and sour effect.

This recipe is a little involved, but the results make it worth it.

I did forget what a lime barely yields 1 tbsp of juice. I was seeing what I needed and was like “oh zest of two limes, I’ll just use those for the 3 tbsps of lime juice.”

Cue 1. Me looking ridiculous trying to squeeze a lime directly in a measuring spoon. 2. Getting pissed that there’s barely anything there.

Thankfully I had some lime juice in the fridge, so all was well.

Side note, it’s harder to see in the picture with the frosting on top, but these cupcakes are so pretty look:

IMG_3054.jpg

Also, do you all notice something about the frosting? Like maybe HOW PRETTY IT LOOKS!

One of my best friends got me Wilton frosting tips for my birthday, and I finally got to really try them out. Also, the writer mentions the frosting recipe she uses, but says they would be better with her “go-to” frosting recipe, substituting the lime flavoring for the vanilla. So, I did that (I’ll post both recipes), the consistency was really good (for once), and it saved me like 2 cups of powdered sugar.

But as I was frosting, I had flashbacks to one of my jobs in college, which was morning prep at a cupcake shop. I mostly washed dishes, but every once in awhile, I got to decorate the cupcakes. So, I already knew how to work everything, which was nice. And I only had like two air bubbles the whole time!

So. Maybe the war of Jillian vs. Frosting is over? Time will tell.

Recipes:

Cupcakes: http://traceysculinaryadventures.com/2011/08/blueberry-cupcakes-with-lime-cream-cheese-frosting.html

Frosting: http://traceysculinaryadventures.com/2011/04/carrot-cake-whoopie-pies.html

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

