Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

Marbled Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies

14063309_332967617041892_1353150531_n

I have a lot of feelings about red velvet. Like that time I learned that it’s a lie. Red velvet = red food coloring. A lot of red food coloring. That costs money. Just to change the color of something.

So, I was going to just make regular cheesecake brownies, but then I noticed that I actually had most of a little bottle of red food coloring already in the pantry. So I said why the hell not.

I needed one tbsp of it, which I remembered as I was measuring it out. Which is one of those little bottles. I didn’t quite have enough, so these turned out a little more like maroon velvet brownies.

The brownies are from scratch, which is fun. The recipe says that they’re going to be thick, but I thought maybe almost a little too much? It weighed down the cheesecake layer, which is the best part.

As you can see, I almost got the swirling thing down right. I had just a little too much of the red velvet mixture and it got everywhere.

Anyway, I would make these again, but I probably would just make normal, non red velvet ones.

Recipe:

Marbled Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

