Tales from a 20-Something's Kitchen.

One girl's mission to take on Pinterest. And win. And eat some great food in the process.

“Skinny” Texas Cheese Fries

IMG_5277

So. The recipe may be for “skinny” fries, but I don’t know how skinny these are after how much shit I added to them.

But they were delicious sooooo…

To start with, I looked at the recipe and saw that it required only two potatoes. I thought that this surely wasn’t enough, so I doubled everything, and got the monster tray of fries that you see above. At least now there is leftovers!

So, for the modifications. I stuck to the spices from the recipe, which made for some really nice seasoned fries. They came out not as crispy as I had expected, but they were still very good. I skipped the jalepenos because those are too spicy for my white girl taste buds. I made up for that in cheese. The recipe calls for 1/3c, I doubled to 2/3, and I still thought that it wasn’t enough. So I just kept putting on cheese until I was happy. I probably used about 1 1/2 c.

I really like cheese.

I then got the idea to add sour cream to it. I then got the more BRILLIANT idea of piping the sour cream onto the fries with my frosting piping kit. It wasn’t quite as pretty as I imagined it in my head, but the effect still got across. I then cubed up an avocado and threw that on there.

So. Skinny fries? Not so much. Delicious fries? Hell yes.

Recipe: http://www.skinnytaste.com/skinny-texas-cheese-fries/

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

